Last of the Summer Wine

Last of the Summer Wine Theme


Last of the Summer Wine is a British sitcom written by Roy Clarke that was initially broadcast on BBC1. Last of the Summer Wine premiered as an episode of Comedy Playhouse on 4 January 1973 and the first series of episodes followed on 12 November 1973. From 1983 to 2010

Last of the Summer Wine


Last of the Summer Wine



William “Compo” Simmonite (Bill Owen)
Norman “Cleggy” Clegg (Peter Sallis)
Cyril Blamire (Michael Bates)
Walter C. “Foggy” Dewhurst (Brian Wilde)
Seymour Utterthwaite (Michael Aldridge)
Herbert “Truly of the Yard” Truelove (Frank Thornton)
Billy Hardcastle (Keith Clifford)
Alvin Smedley (Brian Murphy)
‘Electrical’ Entwistle (Burt Kwouk)
Luther ‘Hobbo’ Hobdyke (Russ Abbot)
Nora Batty (Kathy Staff)
Walter ‘Wally’ Batty (Joe Gladwin)
Stella (Barbara Young)

[the boys are climbing a hill that provides a spectacular view of the surrounding countryside]
Walter “Foggy” Dewhurst: Every time I come up here, the spirit soars! You can’t help thinking what a wonderful place it would be to set up a machine gun! Give me a small squad of hand-picked men and I could defend this place indefinitely!
Norman Clegg: How long have you been a nature lover, Foggy?

The long-running series generated such a devout worldwide following, a special tour operation evolved over the years affording fans and visitors the opportunity to explore the actual series locations and enjoy the picturesque surroundings.

[Foggy is trying to get Howard in shape by leaping small walls]
Walter “Foggy” Dewhurst: It’s people like you who make this country so rich in idiots.

Nora Batty: [angily] What are *you* doing, peering round corners?
Compo: Sssssh. Not so loud. There’s a man assaulting a woman.
Nora Batty: [terrified] Where? Do something about it!
Compo: I can’t.
Nora Batty: Why ever not?
Compo: [cheekily] He’s not started yet!
[Compo tries to grope Nora]

Last of the Summer Wine was set and filmed in and around Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England and centred on a trio of older men and their youthful antics; the membership of the trio changed several times over the years. The original trio consisted of Bill Owen as the scruffy and childlike Compo Simmonite, Peter Sallis as deep-thinking and meek Norman Clegg and Michael Bates as authoritarian and snobbish Cyril Blamire. When Bates dropped out due to illness in 1976 after two series, the role of the third man of the trio was filled in various years up to the 30th series by the quirky war veteran Walter ‘Foggy’ Dewhirst (Brian Wilde), who had two lengthy stints in the series, the eccentric inventor Seymour Uttherthwaite (Michael Aldridge), and former police officer Herbert ‘Truly of The Yard’ Truelove (Frank Thornton).

The men never seem to grow up, and they develop a unique perspective on their equally eccentric fellow townspeople through their stunts. Although in its early years the series generally revolved around the exploits of the main trio, with occasional interaction with a few recurring characters, over time the cast grew to include a variety of supporting characters and by later years the series was very much an ensemble piece. Each of these recurring characters contributed their own running jokes and subplots to the show and often becoming unwillingly involved in the schemes of the trio, or on occasion having their own, separate storylines.



Release Date:4 January 1973

Also Known As:The Library Mob

Officially announced by Buckingham Palace in 1996 as being Her Majesty the Queen’s favorite television series.


Sid’s Café in Holmfirth, a regular filming location.

The café has become a tourist destination on the strength of the series


Last of The Summer Wine is the world’s longest-running television sitcom,
How Many Seasons did Norman Clegg ( Peter Sallis ) appear in .


In the Final Season of Last of The Summer Wine Burt Kwouk played as one of the three main characters “Electrical’ Entwistle”.

What other Film was he famous for his Outrageous Stunts

Retro TV Themes ( ) is unofficial and for information only. 
It is in no way linked to any official companies.

All Amazon Links are linked directly to the official ( ) website